The Seven Deaths of Maria Callas



“Marina Abramović has been fascinated by the life of the “Tigress”, as Callas was known, for decades. She has now developed the 7 Deaths of Maria Callas opera project, in which seven deaths on stage are recreated in exemplary form on the basis of the musical and scenic formative highlights of the respective operas – all arias that were immensely important for Maria Callas. In seven films and together with Willem Dafoe, Marina Abramović will die seven times and at the end of the performance, with the real death of Maria Callas in Paris in 1977, will be on the stage performing as herself. In addition to the well-known arias from the 19th and 20th centuries, Serbian composer Marko Nikodijević will compose music for the opera’s musical arrangement, and with it illustrate how Callas’s unconditioned love for her art never allowed a separation between the person on stage and the private person.”

Commission of intermezzos videos for opera piece by Marina Abramović, starring Willem Dafoe.


2020 Bayerische Staatsoper
Munich, Germany

2020 Maggio Musicale Fiorentino
Florence, Italy

2021 Opéra national de Paris
Paris, France

2021 Stavos Niarchos Hall
Athens, Greece

2022 Deutsche Oper Berlin
Berlin, Germany

2023 English National Opera
London, United Kingdom